what lynn made today

Space Age – Motion Demo

On Thursday, I need to show some students a little demo of how to use the program Motion.  A few years ago, I used that program to make the animation for a PBS documentary I made, but it’s not like riding a bike – you have to work hard to remember how!

So I wanted to make something nice for the demo, something I might want to use for a bigger project.  I dug out a vintage kids book about our solar system for the main image (the pictures in the book are great and I plan to use more of them), and then added the windup robot we’d already shot on green screen for another project.  I made the picture into layers with photoshop, and filled in each layer with the rubber stamp clone tool, and figured out how to bring the Photoshop layers into Motion and set key frames to move them around, and how to add in the robot and key out the green.  I even used the particle generator to make a little smoke trail on the rocket.  Brought it into Final Cut Pro, added a cute Creative Commons licensed music track, “Twinkie” by a musician called Poddington Bear, and there you have it!  Short, I know, but I think this could be the beginning of something – stay tuned for more!

This entry was published on 02/06/2012 at 5:53 pm. It’s filed under Animation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

